top of page

Polls open for Pegram local election July 12

Pegram’s local elections will be held in conjunction with the federal and state primary election, as well as the county general election, on Thursday, Aug. 1. Early voting for this election will be held July 12 through July 27.

For this year’s election cycle, Pegram has three open seats: mayor and two at-large aldermen. 

Former Pegram Mayor Charles Morehead will run uncontested for the 2024-2028 term. Morehead served as the town’s mayor for four terms, until he passed the gavel to current Mayor John Louallen in 2020.

Six candidates are running for the two open alderman seats. 

Incumbent Vice Mayor Bob Sanders will seek reelection for another four-year term. If he wins, it will be his fourth term as an alderman. Alderman Bo Sanders did not petition to run again, leaving his seat vacant. 

“There is a greater number of candidates in this cycle than in the previous cycles during my tenure,” Cheatham County Election Commission Administrator Pam Frejosky said. Frejosky took on her role in 2017.  

In addition to incumbent Bob Sanders, five other Pegram residents are running for the two open alderman seats:

  • Christopher Crump;

  • Leah Louallen;

  • Miranda Montgomery;

  • Hope Tinsley; and 

  • Randy Fiedler.   

Check back to on July 13 for our free special election edition, featuring interviews with all Pegram candidates.

Both Kingston Springs and Pegram residents will also vote for candidates in the federal and state primary and county general elections. 

Republican incumbent Marsha Blackburn’s federal government Senate seat is up for re-election. Republican Tres Wittum is running against her. Blackburn also has four democratic opponents: Marquita Bradshaw; Lola Denise Brown; Gloria Johnson; and Civil Miller-Watkins. Blackburn has been in office since 2018.

Republican incumbent Mark Green’s federal government House seat is up for re-election. Green recently changed his mind about retiring, and will run for re-election. Democrat Megan Barry is running against him. Green has been in office since 2019.

Republican incumbent Mary Littleton’s House seat in the state government is up for a vote. Republican Justin Spurlock is running against her. Littleton has one democratic opponent: Deborah Castle Doyle. Littleton has been in office since 2013.  

Residents will also be able to cast their vote for Cheatham County Incumbent Property Assessor Cindy Dozier Burney and Robert “Bob” Binkley for road superintendent. They both ran uncontested.

Kingston Springs residents will see uncontested candidate David Risner on their ballot to represent the 6th District on the school board. 

Republican and Democrat sample ballots for both cities can be found here

The deadline to register to vote in the Aug. 1 election is July 2.

Registered voters in both Kingston Springs and Pegram can fill out their early voting ballots at Pegram City Hall. Residents in both towns can also vote early at Pleasant View First Baptist Church and Sycamore Square – David McCullough Room in Ashland City. These locations will be open most days from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., but you can check the early voting schedule here.

On Aug. 1, residents from Kingston Springs should head to Harpeth High School to vote. Pegram residents can vote at Pegram City Hall on election day.

A federal or state-issued photo ID, such as a U.S. passport or Tennessee driver’s license, is required to vote on Election Day. 

Absentee by-mail ballots are available to some voters, including individuals age 60 and older and people who will be traveling outside their county during early voting and on election day. The deadline to request an absentee ballot for the Aug. 1 elections is July 25. 



Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page