top of page

Unopposed wins for candidates in local Super Tuesday election

Two candidates for Cheatham County offices were elected unopposed in the Super Tuesday primary election, held on March 5.

Incumbent Property Assessor Cindy Dozier Burney won the Republican nomination for another term with 3,352 votes. She faced no opposition, and will also run against no challengers in the Aug. 1 county general election, as Democrats did not field a candidate.

Robert “Bob” Binkley ran unopposed for road superintendent, winning the Republican nomination for the office with 3,367 votes. No Democrat is running for this office.

Super Tuesday was a mostly Republican event. Of those who voted in Cheatham County on March 5, more than 85 percent voted in the GOP primary.

Former President Donald Trump won 82 percent of the Republican vote in Cheatham County, or 3,128 of the votes in the county’s presidential primary. Former South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley was a distant second, at 16 percent.

Statewide, Trump won 77 percent of the Republican primary vote, compared to 20 percent for Haley.

President Joe Biden won 91 percent of the 600 ballots cast for president in the county’s Democratic primary, compared to 9 percent who voted “uncommitted.” Statewide, Biden won 92 percent of the Democratic primary vote.

The next election - to be held on Aug. 1 - will include the general election for Cheatham County offices, as well as party primaries for the U.S. Senate, and Rep. Mark Green’s congressional seat. Green recently changed his mind about retiring, and will run for re-election. 

Green’s decision prompted Republican Brandon Ogles to drop out of the race March 6. Former Nashville Mayor Megan Barry is running for the Democratic nomination, in opposition to Green. 

The Aug. 1 election will include a race for state representative, too, for the seat now held by Mary Littleton. It will also include city elections for Pegram and Ashland City. City elections for Kingston Springs and Pleasant View will be held during the Nov. 5 federal and state level general election.



Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page